NaNo Link: 25 things

terribleminds has a post today, 25 things you should know about NaNoWriMo.

The Writer’s Prayer is my wallpaper. Today’s mantra: I am the God of this place.

15. NaStoPlaMo
Take October. Name it “National Story Planning Month.” Whatever you’re going to do in November, you don’t have to go in blind. You’ve no requirement, after all, to suddenly leap out of bed on November 1st, crack open your head with an ice ax, and let the story come pouring from the cleft. Spontaneous generation is a myth in science as it is in creative spheres. Plan. Prep. Take a month.

This is exactly what I’m doing, albeit with less head-cracking (hopefully). Though I can’t believe it’s the fourth already and perhaps there will be weapons and blood before it’s all said and done? Oi.

How’s your story planning?

This entry was posted in rude writes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo Link: 25 things

  1. Amber says:

    “National Story Planning Month”. I’m doing that right now, actually! It’s my first year doing NaNoWriMo and I’m nervous/excited. So I decided to do the post-a-day challenge to gear up for it – not on this blog, though. And I’m trying the snowflake method for novel writing (Google at your will – I try not to plug links). I’m open to any more tips you’ve got from insider experience!

    Good luck with your writing!!!

    • barbrude says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Amber!
      I’m excited that you’re doing for first NaNo, too. Last year was my first, plus a Camp NaNo in July. I’m so excited it’s ridiculous. But anyways. It sounds like you’re on the right track — every writer is different but I know personally I have a hard time getting anything written if I don’t know where I’m going. So plan plan plan, spend a bit of time each day planning the stuff that comes easy and fun but keep a list of hard questions (things you’re not sure how to answer yet but you know they must be) on hand for when the dots start connecting themselves. I’ve always felt like there’s an overwhelming amount of work as I’m planning and one day I look back and realize how much ground I’ve covered a little every day.

      No need to fear plugging Snowflake – Randy’s on my blogroll and I believe I have the Snowflake Method coming up as a Link of the Day sooner or later. 🙂

talk to me...

