NaNo: 10 Tips from James Scott Bell

Another link for today: James Scott Bell offers his own 10 tips on how to succeed at NaNoWriMo.

My favorite part of this post isn’t in the writing (though the tips are spot on) but the post image. Go check it out, you’ll see what I mean.

Oh, I take it back. I have a favorite tip, too. #5, Write everywhere. I’m guilty, so very guilty, of getting used to special times and spaces. If someone or something takes that from me I slow down. I’d blame it on my sun-sign, but I doubt being a Taurus has anything to do with it. Can’t let myself buy into my own B.S. now, can I?

This NaNo I’ll be working more than I was the last two and traveling for a solid week. So I will absolutely need to write everywhere if I want to succeed this year.

What tips help you get ready for NaNo?

This entry was posted in rude writes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NaNo: 10 Tips from James Scott Bell

  1. eritta says:

    That was a great list. I see what you mean about the image! šŸ˜€

  2. Ermilia says:

    NaNoWriMo is horrible intimidating to me. My novel took two years and we are still working out the kinks. Writing an entire MS in a month is insane. I admire those who can handle the stress. Good luck!
    -Elia

    • Ann Elise says:

      My first draft of my first novel took two years, but here I am on the brink of NaNoWriMo anyway. I have an alarming tendency to try things I know are probably not good for my mental health.

      • barbrude says:

        That means you’re a writer, Ann Elise… right?!

        Ahem. Now that you’ve gotten your first one under your belt, you should have a pretty good idea of what works for you and the work involved. I like Chuck Wendig’s take on NaNo, don’t make this a FIRST draft, make it a 0 draft, all about the story.

        Or, ya know, whatever it takes to keep writing and have fun with it. šŸ™‚

      • Ann Elise says:

        WordPress won’t let me reply directly to your reply (facepalm). Chuck Wendig usually knows what he’s talking about. The need to stop self-editing is one of the main reasons why I’m doing NaNo this year. I have a horrible habit of throwing out random sentences I’ve decided I hate at the most inopportune times.

        • barbrude says:

          Aha! I fixed how deep my comments can nest (crazy how many settings there are). Yes, I delight in terribleminds writing advice, I need to figure out how to be half as funny when I self-deprecate.

          Self-editing while writing has ended up being a bad thing for me. I’ve learned I can’t just change one clause in a sentence, it throws off the whole sentence. So the whole sentence needs revised. But one sentence changed mid-graph ends up throwing off the whole paragraph…. So you see where I’m going. That’s probably my best argument for forward movement at all costs. šŸ™‚

    • barbrude says:

      In retrospect, had anyone warned me what I was truly getting into I may have scared myself out of it. But having done it now, I feel a little more okay with embracing the insanity.

      I think the part of NaNo that always comes back to me is this: to complete a MS in one month (my actual goal is 50k of a 80-90k piece) one must absolutely stop worrying about perfection and just write. Dare to be bad, and all of that. Very liberating.

      Thank you for stopping by, Ermilia! Perhaps you could set your own goals for the month-something you can handle-and write along with us. I won’t tell if you won’t. šŸ™‚

talk to me...

