NaNo: Your best ideas

I don’t mean to terrify you, but if you’re planning your NaNo project during the month of October, we’re officially into our second week. A lot of my prepared links shift from big idea-type planning to story specifics.

But don’t worry. If you don’t have a clue yet of what you want to write, Alexandra Sokoloff has some great suggestions to get those creative juices flowing in her post Prep Your Best Idea. She’s got an entire series going right now on her blog, too, that’s worth following.

I’ve never pitched different story ideas to anyone as a springboard before, but it is definitely something to try if you can’t narrow down what you’d like to write.

And if you do already know what you want to write, the notebook-by-the-bed advice is great for any stage of writing. The past few nights I’ve spent the last fifteen minutes of my night making a list of the most pressing story-questions I want answered the next day. I still need some @#$%@! stakes but I’ve made some changes that will make stakes possible and I’m starting to ask better questions than I was before.

How do you know what you want to write?

This entry was posted in rude writes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo: Your best ideas

  1. Kitty says:

    Hi Barb – I know what I’m planning for Nanowrimo this year but only because it will be the third in a trilogy I’m working on. What terrifies me is that I am hoping to finish up book #2 before Nov. 1!! Two years ago was my first Nano – win! Last year, I started on this second book and got a little overconfident in my abilities to catch up after falling behind on the first few days. Fail. 😦 So I’ve been trying to finish up book 2 since then. Now I’m in panic mode! Good luck to you on 2011 Nanowrimo!!

  2. barbrude says:

    Hi Kitty, thanks for stopping by. If I told you not to panic would that help? We still have a few weeks left to get things planned out.

    And think of it this way – this is your third go-around with the whole novel-writing thing. You’ve won once, you can do it again. 🙂

talk to me...

