NaNo: New Things

Are you trying a new technique or focused practice for your NaNoWriMo this year?

I’ll admit, I’ve never done true pre-writing. I’ve done planning stuff galore and tried really thick every-moment-plotted outlines and sparse diagrams. Character bios? Check. Story bibles and spreadsheets and mind maps? Oh, yes.

But I’ve never sat down and wrote prose I knew I wasn’t going to use. I’ve never done pre-stories or test runs or the like. It never appealed. When I’m ready for prose, I’m ready to jump into the story…

And for that reason, I gave it a go for my NaNo. A voice and pace check. A “it’s been weeks since I’ve really focused on creating new words and holy cow I forgot what this feels like” check. Did I really just write that thing? It’s not in English. I think it’s written… in pain?

Don’t mind me; the first day back at the grindstone is always the worst. For the next week, I’m going to keep pre-writing as well as planning. A few more scenes to think about, a few world-building questions to solve. And what better way to solve world-building problems than to write more stories?

We’re a week away from NaNoWriMo! I can barely wait. What are you doing in this final week to make sure you hit the ground running on November 1st?

This entry was posted in rude writes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNo: New Things

  1. M. Howalt says:

    Great post! πŸ™‚
    I write a lot of prose that I’m never going to use directly. We give each other challenges or prompts in my writing group and then read the results to each other. Most of mine have something to do with my longer stories – some are scenes that will be put in at some point, some are funny “what if” scenarios, some are experiments to see if I can write in a certain way about a character that I don’t otherwise (explore new things). A few of those challenges have turned into short stories or flash fiction in their own right. So I guess I don’t write anything that I definitely know I’m not going to use, but I do write a lot of things that may or may not be used – for the sheer pleasure of writing them or as a challenge.
    As for trying a new approach, I do that with NaNoWriMo each year. This time I will be writing about a group of characters and see things through several sets of eyes (I usually have one narrator/protagonist), and I don’t have a plot planned out (ending? We’ll deal with it when we get there) which I usually do. I’m also writing in a genre that I haven’t since I was 14 or so, but taking a new spin on it.

    • barb says:

      Thank you for stopping by, M. I hope your multi-protag story works out (and I have total faith it will!).

      I need to write more things that I ‘may or may not’ use (and that’s a far better way to think of it than ‘I have no idea what I will use this for’). It’s fun. πŸ™‚

  2. Ann Elise says:

    I’m outlining for the first time ever. I’m slowly getting to the end and I think the thing will be over 10,000 words long when I finally do finish it. I don’t want to be left floundering halfway through November with no idea of what I should write next.

    • barb says:

      Wow, that’s quite an outline, Ann Elise. I hope it works out for you; we certainly don’t have time to flounder in November. Well, less time to flounder than usual. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by!

talk to me...

