Some Futurey Things

Congratulations if you rocked NaNoWriMo. Congratulations if you didn’t, and you gave it your all, too.

I imagine a lot of us aren’t done. I “won” with my 50k words on November 19th, but that’s the half-way point for the story I had in mind.

And now that NaNo is over, I’m excited to jump back into my other big passions as the new year rolls around: baking and reading. And while often I’m loathe to talk about my plans for fear of what will happen if things don’t turn out, but I’ve been looking forward to these things for so long my fears are ridiculous.

I have two books selected that for the story deconstruction series. I’ve learned a bit since my last one, so this time I’ll try to plan out what we’ll need to read together for the discussion next week. Specific post dates and chapters to read, etc.  And for the past three months, I’ve been watching those books on the off-chance they go on sale. I’ll continue to do that and if there’s a promotion I’ll holler.

The Hunger Games has a fairly straightforward premise-is-plot story. Please don’t misunderstand me; I love THG and by straightforward I am not claiming that this book is anything less than excellent.

But there are other kinds of plots, too, and other ways to use story milestones to achieve different effects.

For instance, what about nothing-is-as-it-seems plot where the characters are constantly learning that everything they knew before was wrong or everything they learn changes what they already know? Kelly Meding’s Three Days to Dead is one such story. I’d like to read that with you and talk about it early in the new year.

Or what about a character-centric plot? Okay, I know, all good books are character-centric, and of course THG and TDtD have great characters in them. But what about a book whose external conflicts happen more as subplots to support the character development happening inside? Enter Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Dart. It took me reading the first four books of the Kushiel series to pick up on the pattern, so engrossed was I in the lovely world of Terre d’Ange. I’m excited to re-read this book to analyze how she did it.

And of course, I’m still happy to talk about books I read in a you-should-read-this sort of way. I have a few recommendations I’ve been putting off while I was focusing on NaNoWriMo. And in the future, I’d like to keep talking about books that are a little off-the-wall (in a good way). Non-traditional fantasy with unique settings, new premises, and fun characters. Books that zig while the rest of the world is zagging. And maybe some books that zag, too, since sometimes the world knows what’s good. 🙂

What would you like to see on my blog?

This entry was posted in rude reads, rude recommends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Futurey Things

  1. M. Howalt says:

    And congratulations to you too! 🙂
    I passed the 50K too and also only wrote half of the story I had intended, so I’m looking forward to writing some more.

talk to me...

