Recommended: Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

I’d like to recommend Jenny Pox by J.L. Bryan. A few reasons why:

1. Girl who spreads plague by touch in small-town South Carolina. You had me at the premise. You had me at the location.

2. Jenny doesn’t ever get whiny even though her lot is a miserable one. In fact, she’s pretty darned active. She has hobbies, she does stuff to get what she wants, she’s not really afraid of playground tyrants.

3. As a lot of reviews I found mentioned, the world comes alive. Some people found the main antagonist Ashleigh to be too much, but I found myself loving to hate her.

Darkeva’s Dark Delights has a review that shares my thoughts on this book. So does Books are Precious Gems. That is, if the premise alone hasn’t convinced you. šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in rude reads, rude recommends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recommended: Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

  1. Kitty says:

    Hi Barb! I’ve had this one on my “to read” list for a while (it’s a long list so I haven’t gotten to it yet!). I agree – just the premise of the story alone makes me want to read it. I have read several books by Amanda Hocking and she’s a big JL Bryan fan. Have you read any Amanda Hocking? You might like her stuff, too.

    • barb says:

      You know, for the longest time I only thought of Hocking as a PNR “vampire” writer but I picked up a copy of Hollowland because that sounds like my kind of thing.
      I’m excited for you, I hope you like Jenny Pox as much as I did. I tore through the sequel and I have the final book in the trilogy waiting for me on my e-reader.

      Thanks for the comment and suggestion! šŸ™‚

talk to me...

