brandied eggnog cookies

brandied eggnog cookies

A nutmeg butter cookie sandwiched with brandy buttercream, sprinkled with nutmeg and raw sugar.

I love this cookie because it’s perfect for the holidays without being the-same-old holiday treat. You can’t find these in stores. And don’t get me wrong; I love macaroons, tea cakes, gingerbread, peanut butter blossoms, sugar cookies, and the likes, but this cookie is so classy and simple. The name alone piques interest. They are beautiful without bright colors and heavy decorations.

Brandy makes it distinct–perfect for adults–while still being snackable and only partially addicting.

These and rum balls were the first to disappear off of the trays at both Christmas events this year. Perhaps next year I should save myself some effort and just bake from my liquor cabinet!

These cookies are so good I had to make a second batch to send family downstate. Find the recipe here at Cooking Books.

Some tips: These are best made a day or so in advance. Then the filling sets; they are easier to eat and the brandy flavor mellows. I cut them smaller and a little (very little) bit thinner than the recipe says, but do make sure to keep the dough cold when rolling them out.

The last couple of times I’ve made these, I made more filling and made it thicker; adding extra powdered sugar and then a little extra brandy until it’s the consistency I want. Then I put a bit more filling into each cookie, because that’s how I like them.

Once the filling is set these cookies store easily, laying flat and stacked two to three high in an airtight container. They will keep almost up to a week; assuming you can hide them that long. 🙂

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

talk to me...

