cornbread balls

Confession time: I’ve been looking for an excuse *cough* I mean *cough* a reason to use the cake ball maker my loving family gave me for Christmas.

What could I justify baking? Muffins or coffee cake sounded pretty tasty but I wasn’t sure about how cinnamon swirls, chocolate chips, or blueberries would turn out. (I’m now convinced my concerns were unjustified but I’ll provide you with scientific analysis soon)

Earlier this afternoon I was wandering through the grocery store looking for a thinly veiled excuse to use my cake pop maker good idea for supper and it hit me: cornbread. I already have a recipe I like, and if the test run doesn’t work out, I can toss ’em and bake the rest of the batter in muffin pans.

cornbread balls

But once I got started, they were so cute I didn’t want to stop making them.

Tips for using a Cake Pop Maker:

1. I used a ketchup squeeze bottle with the top trimmed to make the hole large enough for the batter to squeeze out freely.

2. Squeeze hard and fast, straight into the bottom of the cavity. That way, the batter forms a nice little mound without air pockets and you can judge the amount easily.

3. Fill half full. I’m not sure if cakes and other recipes will be different, but that is what worked for the cornbread.

4. Four minutes and please use an oven mitt to open and close the lid. Be ready to work swiftly and watch the clock, just like pancakes and waffles.

The cake pop maker is somewhat of a glorified waffle iron that makes roundish shapes instead of flat waffled ones. And if that makes me sound disappointed; I’m not. It works exactly how I expected it to.

While no one I know will ever let me make cake pops with it (they all prefer the handmade ones), I’ll get some good use experimenting with muffins and other quick bread recipes.

I can’t decide if I should whip up some honey butter to dip these cornbread balls or just serve them with some good ole molasses. What do you think?

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to cornbread balls

  1. Kitty says:

    I have never wanted a Cake Pop Maker… until now. Those look wonderful!!

    • barb says:

      Thank you, Kitty. I’m kind of obsessed with brainstorming more ideas to make in miniature; if not the cake pop maker then a mini-muffin pan. End result: snackable and fun to eat. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ben says:

    I love your blog, but you keep making me hungry. SO HUNGRY!

  3. Lisa Thurman says:

    I just my cake pop maker. I’m going to make pizza in mine tomorrow for dinner. Pizza crust with sausage, pepperoni and cheese inside and shape into ball, then dip in marinara sauce. Also going to try cheesecake balls, and mozzarella balls,, corn dog balls, pancake balls with bacon, cream filled donut balls, and whatever else I can figure. I think I might try some crushed oreo cookies mixed with cream cheese,… yum! but think I could do those without the machine. Oh well, happy ball making ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lisa Thurman says:

    ooh, now that it’s almost thanksgiving, how about stuffing balls? or take some bisquick and pour it in like batter and stuff a piece of sausage in the middle. That would make sausage and biscuit and you could dip it in gravy ๐Ÿ™‚ or I guess you could make and egg and put it in the batter with the sausage and maybe a piece of cheese and then have a sausage, egg and cheese, LOL, I love this. My family has now labeled me “obessessed” ๐Ÿ™‚

    • barb says:

      Those are some delicious ideas, Lisa! Thanks for sharing; I love stuffing and want to give stuffing-sausage balls a try, sounds amazing. I’ll let you know how it goes ๐Ÿ™‚

talk to me...

