link: never been a better time to be a reader

Jeff at Bookriot writes how there’s never been a better time to be a reader.

And I suppose it’s a symptom of reading so much publishing news, but all the time it’s publishers and editors this, writers that. Stick around long enough on the internet and you hear some crazy, crazy things about the industry.

So it’s positively nice when someone reminds us who is really profiting: the reader. Sure, there are still dozens of articles decrying how self-publishing is making us all stupid and good writing will crumble like the foundations of… I dunno, something. But seriously. Got an e-reader? In the mood to read something specific? I bet you can find a story that will tickle your current fancy. And even if you don’t have an e-reader, there’s a bookstore online that has what you’re looking for, as soon as you figure out what it is you’re looking for.

Disclaimer: It’s not my fault if you go shopping and find more than you wanted to. Just sayin’.

I think that’s my favorite part of this whole self-publishing thing. Not because I’ve got my eye on it as a writer-type, but because it’s opened up a new world of books to me as a reader.

Thanks, internet!

This entry was posted in rude rambles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to link: never been a better time to be a reader

  1. Kitty says:

    Great post, Barb. And so true. Especially the part about finding more than you’re looking for… my “to be read” pile just keeps growing and growing!!

talk to me...

