yes, you can have cookies

Naturally, the first thing I needed to do after discovering my gluten intolerance was to find some cookie recipes I could actually eat. More important than bread or crackers or breakfast cereal. My priorities are all in the right place: cookies, cookies, cookies.

I lucked out finding this awesome cookbook at the library, hiding right next to the book I was actually looking for. The Ultimate Gluten Free Cookie Book? Yes, I’ll check that out (and try every recipe).

This book is the best thing to happen to me this year.

This book is the best thing to happen to me this year.

I love TUGFCB not just because it’s all about cookies, but because the author is devoted to an elegant baking philosophy–choose your flour, make the best damn cookie you can with that flour. So many other gluten-free cookbooks go for the strangest concoctions of ingredients, trying desperately to mimic wheat flour and all its properties.

Understandably, it’s a natural way to go about it. We want to preserve everything we know about baking and cooking, to find substitutes that don’t change the recipes we know and love.

For a lot of recipes like cakes and breads, concoctions are necessary. But I was unsatisfied with concocted pancakes. They weren’t the same, and to be honest, I don’t need ‘the same.’ I need them to be good.

Enter Roben Ryberg’s philosophy behind TUGFCB: single-flour recipes, unashamed, with new ingredient proportions to bring out the best flavors. And it’s awesome.

This approach also teaches me how these flours interact inside the recipe and bake in the oven. I have learned so much from this book, because I can see first-hand how these new flours work, instead of trusting a name brand to handle the chemistry for me.

Name brand flour mixes are great, don’t get me wrong. If you’re new to gluten-free baking or just want to whip up something for a friend, it’s a great place to start. But if you’re committed to a life of gluten-free for you or a loved one, you’ll want these recipes in your arsenal.

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

talk to me...

