cashew cookies

I wanted to name these cookies Cashew Condors. Because if you take an egg-shape and put a cashew nose on it, it looks like an adorable baby condor, as featured in this lovely library find:

this is a fun cookbook.

this is a fun cookbook.

Alas, my cookies were not so cute. And I’m not surprised that my stuff never looks like the stuff I see in cookbooks and Pinterest (nailed it!), but I didn’t expect it to look… well, like not birds at all. Besides, it was a poor cashew to cookie ratio. So I went with round and fat little coins, that went into the oven looking something like this:

image

wpid-wp-1432839662807.jpeg

It’s a gluten-free recipe thing, that dry-yet-greasy dough. I’ve come to like working with it, even if it’s not as yummy to eat as its glutenous counterparts. (That doesn’t stop me, if we’re being honest here.)

imageimage

Funny thing is, they weren’t quite what I was trying for, which was basically a peanut butter blossom only with cashews and more cashews. They were a bit drier, a lot firmer, and very chewy. Not too sweet, either, and normally that’s not a compliment when it comes from me. For this cookie, it’s a good thing. It really is.

And I’m not disappointed that these cookies turned out like nothing I’ve made before. Variety is the spice of life, and it’s nice to branch out. I might try to make a more buttery version of this cookie in the future, but the recipe as it is can stand on its own.

Oh, you were waiting for the recipe? Whoops! Here you go 😀

Cashew Cookies

65 g unsalted cashews, ground into meal (about 1/4 c)
2-3 tbsp canola oil
1/3 c sugar*
1 c sweet brown rice flour (or sticky rice flour)
1/4 tsp xantham gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
whole cashews

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream oil and cashew meal until creamy and smooth. Add sugar and beat well. Add flour, xantham gum, salt, and baking powder, and mix well. Mixture will be crumbly and dry. Add egg. Dough will be dry-ish yet oily.

Press into small thick rounds (cookie will not spread during baking). Top with whole cashews.

Bake for 9-11 minutes.

*Increase to 1/2 c sugar if you want this cookie to jump from not-too-sweet to decadently sweet.

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

talk to me...

