candy-filled cookies

image

imageI didn’t realize the ticket to perfect M&M cookies would be going gluten-free, but apparently it is.

Seriously–I struggled for years to create an M&M cookie that looked as good as it tasted. They always spread way too much, unless I used more shortening than butter, but then they didn’t taste good.

These aren’t the yellow-golden babies I used to long for, but I bet with granulated sugar and white rice flours, they’ll turn out (looks like I have an assignment for another day!), but they are so thick and don’t have that crazy spread I dislike so vehemently.

Candy Cookies

1/3 c butter, softened
1/2 c sugar
1 c cookie flour *
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 c candy-coated chocolates **
1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream butter and sugar. Add cookie flour, corn starch, baking powder, and salt–mix until crumbly. Add vanilla and egg. Beat until dough comes together and is sticky. Add candies and chocolates. Mix well. Scoop onto cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes. Cool on wire racks.

*Cookie flour is a really fancy way of saying I mixed equal parts of brown rice flour and sweet brown rice flour with xantham gum, baking powder, and vanilla powder. Since I have a cookie problem, I keep a canister of this stuff in my freezer. If you do not have a cookie problem (and I commend you!), try this: 1/2 c rice or other grain flour, 1/2 sweet rice flour or other starch/starchy flour, 1/2 tsp xantham gum, 1/2 tsp baking powder.

**Live large and put in 2 cups of colorful chocolates instead of semi-sweet chips. I wanted to hoard the rest of my M&Ms for another baking spree.

Happy snacking!

 

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

talk to me...

