sorghum cranberry muffins

image

Gluten-Free Cranberry Muffins

Lately I’ve been experimenting with a DIY flour blend to copycat the one I’ve been getting from Costco, Namaste’s Perfect Flour Blend. I have mixed feelings on the blend–it’s a tad gummy, but at the same time it’s the cheapest, and let’s be honest–I’m probably not going to be satisfied with any blend. What I want is wheat and anything else will be ‘not quite but close enough’.

I probably don’t even have realistic memories of wheat-filled treats at this point–after a year without, they’re just better in my head than they ever were on the plate.

However. There are some recipes that hit the spot. I fell in love with this sorghum waffle recipe from don’teatwheat.com–it’s delicious but it’s also simple. Just two flour ingredients (sorghum and corn starch) and xantham gum–and sorghum flour is the bulk of the flour used, so it’s the closest to whole grain a gluten-free girl can get in a waffle.

I must have been dreaming about baking again, because when I woke up this morning I knew I wanted to make muffins, and I didn’t want to use a blend or come up with some crazy new trial of five flours to make one muffin. I wanted a recipe that functioned like the waffles–as simple as possible.

There’s a little math involved. I compared my standby pancake & waffle (wheat) recipe to my new favorite, sorghum waffles. Turns out they’re fairly similar except for one thing–the amount of flours added. That makes sense–sorghum absorbs a lot more liquid. Sorghum waffles call for about half the flour.

And what are muffins, if not for sweeter, more dense pancakes baked in the oven? (Okay not really but just go with it, okay?) With this in mind, I found a (normal) cranberry muffin recipe and halved the total amount of flour called for, and made that remaining bit a ratio of sorghum flour and tapioca, and mixed it up. The batter was very, very thin so I slowly added more flours until it had a nice muffin-batter consistency.

Eighteen minutes later, I was popping little bits of perfection out of the pan. These muffins are by far the closest thing I’ve ever come to ‘real’ muffins–soft, moist, a little dense, but still fluffy. I mean, check out this crumb:

image

I’ll stop gushing now. You want the recipe, right?

Right.

Sorghum Cranberry Muffins

adapted from recipe girl’s cranberry muffins
makes 48 mini muffins

1-1/2 c fresh cranberries, halved
1/2 c powdered sugar
2 c sorghum flour
3/4 c tapioca starch
1 tsp xantham gum
3 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 l eggs, beaten
2 c milk
1/2 c butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350. Spray or line cupcake pans and set aside.

In small bowl, toss cranberry halves in powdered sugar. Set aside.

In large bowl, sift together dry ingredients. Create a well and add wet ingredients. Mix until moistened. Gently fold in cranberries.

Pour into mini muffin pans. Bake for 17-20 minutes, until golden and the tops spring back to the touch.

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in rude eats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

talk to me...

