recommended: furiously happy by jenny lawson

You might think I’ve stopped reading altogether since my recommendations stopped a while ago. No, I just forgot to share awesome stuff, and for that I owe you an apology. We should never, ever not share awesome stuff.

Segue to how frickin’ awesome Furiously Happy is.

furiously happy: a funny book about horrible things

Laughed out loud? Check. Laughed out loud until I cried? Check–I’m not ashamed of that. Lawson tackles a lot of subjects with candor and humor and empathy, stuff that’s near and dear to my heart: depression, insomnia, dealing with people, dealing with medications, dealing with life. She does things I can only dream about, like ‘convincing’ her cat to run around with a taxidermied raccoon on its back at two in the morning.

And if that weren’t ridiculous enough, you need to read how she tells that particular story.

Furiously Happy is the book about mental illness we need, because it goes deeper than just coming out. This is day to day life–forgetting doctor’s appointments, having panic attacks in the hotel, sharing your passions no matter how weird. It’s the ugly stuff, too–medication side effects, self-harm, hiding under the table.

…but it’s also about choosing to be furiously happy when we can. For that, I love this book.

This entry was posted in rude reads, rude recommends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to recommended: furiously happy by jenny lawson

  1. Oh, I just love this book! I finished reading it a few months ago, and this was the first book I’ve EVER read that I actually laughed out loud to. Jenny does a great job of taking a lighter, more humorous approach when talking about mental illness without taking away the seriousness of it. I can’t wait to read her first book, ‘Let’s Pretend This Never Happened’

talk to me...

